Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Electric to Double Bass

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [DB]' started by The Golden Boy, Jan 23, 2004.

1. I've been playing bass for about 20 years or so, and in that time I never had too much of an urge to play double bass (standup). I've plunked around on a couple, but just because it was there. My band has an acoustic show coming up shortly and I don't have an acoustic bass, however the keyboard player in my band has a bass that was given to him by his father, that was given to him by HIS father. By his best account he figures the bass to be a '20s or '30s Kay. I'm going to learn this, quick-like, and was wondering if anyone else has gone from being comfortable on Electric Bass to novice on Double Bass and any pointers anyone might have.

BTW Although I've been playing for 20 years, don't equate that with being good. I'm decent at what I do, but "proper technique" is not a phrase that is too applicable to me.

2. I'd recommend asking this question on the double bass side of TB.....while you might find some DB players here, you're guaranteed to find a lot more over there. and a search may yield some old discussions of the same topic.

3. Mike N

Mike N Missing the old TB

Jan 28, 2001
    New York
    If youre serious about playing the DB (other than just noodling around on it), get a teacher. Not having "proper technique" on DB is worse than not having it on BG, imo.

4. brianrost

brianrost Gold Supporting Member

Apr 26, 2000
    Boston, Taxachusetts
    If you are just going to play one or two shows, here's some tips: