Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Electric Upright Bass Generally

Discussion in 'Electric Upright Basses (EUB's) [DB]' started by islandman, May 10, 2001.

1. Hi folks,

a complete double bass newbie here. I am an electric bass player with no prior upright experience. I have decided to plunge into the double bass area to start playing some bebop jazz gigs (due to the prodding of my wife)...

I am keen on acquiring a Zeta Crossover bass (electric upright) as I don't have the space for a real acoustic double bass; besides shipping to Willemstad, Curacao will surely cost a fortune.

Any comments will be greatly appreciated.

As well, I would appreciate recommendations on beginner bass lessons/books.

masha danki,

the island man

:

2. Good grief! Is there a way to say 'double bass' in Papamiento?

3. I have a Zeta (http://www.k1wd.com/music/bass/Zeta_PB304.jpg ), but when I tried a REAL double-bass (http://www.k1wd.com/music/bass/URB.jpg), I was immediately hooked, and would recommend anyone who was serious about the double-bass, not to bother with the intermediate step, and to go straight for the real thing. The difference is like night and day!

Step 1:
    Get a good teacher

Step 2:
    Do you have a good teacher yet?

If the answer to 2 is "no", then go to step 1

;>

- Wil

4. as I have mentioned, no space for the real thing, that's why I prefer an EUB right now...

5. Chris Fitzgerald

Chris Fitzgerald Student of Life Staff Member Administrator

Oct 19, 2000
    Louisville, KY
    I don't care at all for EUB's, but the EUB of choice on this board seems to be the Eminence. Search in the "Basses" (DB) archives and you'll find an entire thread devoted to it.

Good luck.

6. dhosek

dhosek

May 25, 2000
    Los Angeles, CA
    The Zeta crossover is NOT an EUB. It's a fretless bass guitar rigged so that you can play it in an upright position.