1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Electric Upright Recommendations

Discussion in 'Electric Upright Basses (EUB's) [DB]' started by Maeve, Oct 27, 2018.

1. Maeve

Maeve

Oct 27, 2018
    I'm looking for an upright electric that will be fairly easy to fly with. Primarily for arco playing, as I am a classical musician. Price is not a factor in my decision, I just want something that feels and sounds similar to an acoustic double bass. Preferably 40.5" scale and E neck, but open to 41" or Eb neck if necessary. Please let me know your recommendations and experiences flying with an upright electric.

2. madbanjoman

madbanjoman Supporting Member

Feb 23, 2011
    Pittsburgh
    I love my MK Studio. I can’t speak to flying with it, but MK makes a fly version of the Studio and Jazz models.

Here is a video clip of the Jazz Fly model being played arco at the 1:35 minute mark.

Because these basses are made to order, you could request the neck and length you require. My Studio has custom reverse wings as I stand on the wrong side of the bass to play it.

Link for the Jazz Fly

Mod.Jazz-Fly - Contrabbassi Elettrici MK

3. rickwolff

rickwolff CGJ -- Endorsing Artist-- ---3M Dual Lock--- Supporting Member

Was E neck a typo?

4. rickwolff

rickwolff CGJ -- Endorsing Artist-- ---3M Dual Lock--- Supporting Member

I have owned both the BSX Allegro and the Eminence (Removable Neck version). Both worked fine for pizz and arco and should be easy to fly with, although I never had the occasion.

5. paulunger

paulunger Supporting Member

Sep 1, 2002
    Fort Worth, Texas
    Chadwick Folding Bass! A real bass, set up the way you want, under 50 pounds, looks like a large suitcase. Occasionally, they will even check it as baggage and not charge you. There is a hybrid version now that bows even easier.
    Home - The Chadwick Folding Bass