1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Electric vs Upright tough descision

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Mackanbass, Feb 27, 2013.

1. Mackanbass

Mackanbass

Mar 17, 2006
    Hi,

Ok, so I really need some helping advice here :D
    I´ve been playing music for over 15 years, mainly playing Electric 5-string basses. A few years ago I started playing with a acoustic bluegrass band. So I got an acoustic upright bass. Yes, it takes a lot of practice to get it right but it is the best thing for this kind of music.

Then the problems started. An 3/4 upright bass really is a pain to move around, even if you have a car. And, living in sweden with all the temperature/humidity changes has caused my bass to break. I´ve had the neck glued back into place, new bridge, top glued back and it just goes on. And according to my repairman most of this normal with classical instruments under these weather conditions.

Then there is the practice bit. Having 2 kids and a full time job I can´t find the time that this instrument takes to have my fingering and technique in good shape. I have longer experience playing electric bass so that takes much less time to get me up n runnin´.

Me, being a electric bass player really isn´t used to all this, maybe it is normal and just stuff that you have to live with if you really want to play upright bass.

So bottom line is. I can´t figure out if it is worth all the pain to have the right sound. I have tried small amps and electric bass but it just doesn´t feel right and all the Acoustic bass guitars that I have tried just isn´t loud enough so you need an amp anyway. Sience I already have the upright bass and in a way I like it + the sound is right, but should i get rid of it and get a smaller speaker and an acoustic bass? At least it looks almost right on stage ;)

Anyone have had the same experience/thaughts?