1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Elixir Stainless Steel vs Elixir Nickel

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by jwilson67, Nov 17, 2016.

1. jwilson67

jwilson67

Jun 2, 2015
    San Dimas, CA
    OK, OK - yes I know there are multiple threads out there with people who have used both. I am looking for a concise comparison between the two regarding tonal qualities that stand out for each type because I want to get a set within the next couple days and I don't have time to sift through the old forums.

FYI I am using EB Cobalt rounds (5 string) at the current time.

Any user thoughts would be greatly appreciated!

2. Aidil

Aidil

Dec 4, 2014
    Jkt, IDN
    Would like to know also...

I've been using Elixir Nickel Plated Steel bass string for about 2 years and I've restrung my acoustic electric bass with Elixir 80/20 Bronze. I wanna try the Stainless Steel version for my go to bass, which is currently strung with D'Addario Flex Steels.

Coincidentally, I have unused EB Cobalt rounds which is supposed to be for my go to bass after I've done with the Flex Steels. So, if you would be kind enough to share... I'd like to know also why you are interested in changing to the Elixir Stainless Steel as opposed to your current.

3. MattB88

MattB88 Gold Supporting Member

Sep 11, 2016
    Nashville
    Endorsing Artist: LowEnd basses, DR Strings, Warm Audio, Shaw Audio
    I've used both. The stainless are what I currently use on two of my basses. They're quite a bit brighter than their nickel but the low end is still round and full. Very similar to the nickel low end.

jwilson67 likes this.
  4. Aidil

Aidil

Dec 4, 2014
    Jkt, IDN
    do the Elixir Stainless Steels posses typical characteristic of roughness on fingertips?

5. MattB88

Sep 11, 2016
    Nashville
    No they're much easier on the hands and sliding is effortless with minimal finger noise.