Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

eMedia Bass Method, Is it worth it?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by WillPlay4Food, Apr 12, 2002.

1. WillPlay4Food

WillPlay4Food Now With More Metal! Staff Member Supporting Member

Apr 9, 2002
    Orbiting HQ
    Howdy all!

I just started playing bass on Monday, when I picked up one of the Fender P-Bass starter kits. I have no previous experience with bass or guitar, and I last played an instrument (violin & alto/baritone sax) 22 yrs ago.

Anyway, I picked up Fast Track: Bass 1 to go along with the video that came with the bass starter kit. I figure once I can do all the stuff in the video and book, I'll need more instructional material.

I've seen the eMedia Bass Method software in different music stores and I was wondering if anyone here had any experience with it. I don't want to blow $60 and find out it makes a better coaster than anything else.

Also, if anyone has ideas on other instructional material that they found exceptional for the rank beginner, I would love to hear it.

I am thinking about lessons, but I have a tight schedule with work & school until May so I wouldn't be able to take any until at least June.

Thanks for any replies.

2. 3rd Rock

3rd Rock Guest

Sep 19, 2001
    Toms River, NJ
    You can download a demo of the E-media software from their site , http://www.emedia.org/bass.html .

It seems pretty cool. I thought about picking it up as well, but haven't yet.

Anyone actually buy it, and can say it is worth it?

3. cwadley

cwadley

Apr 27, 2001
    Chicago, IL
    I have eMedia's Bass Method. It's good for learning how to improvise and how to create your own basslines. If, however, your main desire right now is to learn the actual mechanics and techniques of properly playing the bass, it's not so good.