1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

EMG Geezer Butler v Steve Harris v EMG PX v quarter pounder

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by DavidWeeks, Dec 25, 2017.

1. DavidWeeks

DavidWeeks

Apr 26, 2017
    Hey guys. I've been reading posts on each one of these pickups... But having a hard time deciding.

My ancient P bass is going to the doctor for a well deserved rest and makeover. I'm going to replace the bridge and upgrade the rather tired electronics. Bear in mind that I've been playing this bass for over thirty years now and it feels absolutely great to me...

However, I've been playing on an ATK and rather enjoying the MM grind of that pick up.

I know a P will never be a MM, but I wonder if you guys can help me choose the hottest/grindiest pickup from the above list (or any I didn't think of).

Btw... No problem if it's an active pickup.

Thanks a lot in advance

2. Slater

Slater Leave that thing alone.

Apr 17, 2000
    The Great Lakes State
    From your listed pickups I would choose the SPB-4 Steve Harris, but from what you’re describing in your post I would recommend a Dimarzio Model P DP122.

DavidWeeks likes this.
  3. DavidWeeks

DavidWeeks

Apr 26, 2017
    Oh I didn't have that in my list. I'll look into it.

Thanks

4. ctmullins

ctmullins fueled by beer and coconut Gold Supporting Member

Apr 18, 2008
    MS Gulf Coast
    I'm highly opinionated and extremely self-assured
    DavidWeeks likes this.
  5. somebrains

somebrains

Feb 7, 2017
    I'd go with the Nordstrand Power Blade.

I only like my GZR with a preamp, there's a setup out of an 80's Thumb in the parts FS you should consider.
    I've used MEC and HAZ preamps with my GZR to get the effect you want.

Dimarzio is better passive + 250k pots to darken it up a little, and more affordable.