1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

EMG Jag Preamp?

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by Sundown1206, May 16, 2011.

1. Sundown1206

Sundown1206

Jan 26, 2010
    Chicago
    Hi I'm putting an EMG J set into my jaguar but am looking to replace the preamp. This is my first time changing a preamp and so I know nothing about it. I've been searching these forums and google and I'm not catching on any so I was hoping for some help. First I'd like to know what preamps people like to put into their jaguars that will work with emg pickups. I'd prefer the pre amp to have center detents as well. And I was thinking about the battery drainage since the pickups also use batteries. Btw I'm going for 18v. Thanks

2. Sundown1206

Sundown1206

Jan 26, 2010
    Chicago
    Cmon somebody

3. Evan Ciambrone

Evan Ciambrone

Nov 22, 2006
    Well I suppose as long as the pre-amp has a module you could solder it up the the roll knobs, but it will probably be tricky and best left to a pro, considering active/passive series/parallel and a master tone control are involved, assuming you have the fender model.

4. Sundown1206

Sundown1206

Jan 26, 2010
    Chicago
    The roll controls are gone. I'm painting my bass and taking that out. They're being replaced by concentric knobs. I can solder just fine I just don't know what kind of preamp to use but I hate to original one.

5. Evan Ciambrone

Evan Ciambrone

Nov 22, 2006
    hmm Isn't there a big rout underneath that plate?

6. Sundown1206

Sundown1206

Jan 26, 2010
    Chicago
    Depending on what pre amp I get I'm either filling it or using it for batteries. Either way I'm having a custom pickguard made.

7. CoreyP

CoreyP

Jul 9, 2005
    Buffalo, NY