Discussion in 'Recordings [BG]' started by Vampyre, Jan 3, 2005.

1. Vampyre

Dec 9, 2004
    hello all. I'm wondering if any1 can help me as i am new to this whole "emo" thing. The problem is that in the area where i live, emo is probably the most popular type of music (and by emo i mean stuff like atreyu, nirvana etc) and me and my band dont knwo teh first thing about it..other than the 2 bands i just mentioned. Sooooooo, can any1 recomend some good bands that play with the emo style of music...doesnt rlly matter if they are wildly popular we just need to familiarize ourselves with as many bands of the type as possible as fast as we can mostly because we have a gig coming up and we are expected to play this style i know we probably shouldnt have agreed to play it before we got to know the music but its a bit too late now thx (sorry for huge post)
  2. fastplant

Sep 26, 2002
    Neither of those two bands are emo. Check out Get Up Kids, that'll be a good intro to emo.
  3. Against Will

Against Will Supporting Member

Dec 10, 2003
    Big Sound Central
    Cursive, Rites of Spring, Commander Venus, Moss Icon, Dag Nasty.

Check here for more info.
  4. kaboom133

Oct 19, 2001
    Latrobe PA

Probably not the best idea to play or listen to something just because it is popular. You should play and listen to what you like. But of course, it never hurts to try something new, In which case Against Will's post is a good starting place.

You need to watch out though; don't get cought up in the whole genre fight. People will argue until they're blue in the face over genres, especially emo. You'll get the group that says that there has been no real true emo since the 80's, and then there will be the group that says true emo is the Ataris and the Get Up Kids. Forget all of this crap. Listen to the old stuff (Rites Of spring, Jawbreaker etc.) and listen to the new stuff. Decide what you like, but don't get cought up in the whole genre thing and fight about it.
  5. Skaboy21