1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Endless search for "the right" sound

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by acidmisery, Jun 5, 2017.

1. acidmisery

acidmisery

Jun 5, 2017
    Hey so this is my first post here, I've been playing bass for about 6 months, played guitar for about 10 years before that. As for discussion, I bring you this scenario:

I play in a band, we mostly just jam, did a lot of harmonica and uke and guitar for a while. I eventually bought a bass, a Squier P. When I started playing I was recommended La Bella strings, and I started with their 45-105 SS flats, after light youtube research. From there I went to their black tapes, and eventually their SS rounds. La Bella nylon acoustic guitar strings are my definite favorite so I just stayed with what I thought I knew.

So as I'm sure y'all know, the flats and tapes just don't pop during an acoustic jam. It's a shame since I LOVE the La Bella tapes. Typically we have myself on bass, a drummer, some hand drums, and guitar (acoustic and electric, varies). The low bops on the congas kinda mush with the bass (started cutting down my low mids, sounds kinda nice anyway) but still the rain of cymbals and piccolo snare would make it so I was but a groovy rumble.

For most folks that might be fine, but see in my band the guitar and bass are almost equally lead. Oftentimes the guitar is just rhythm and it's the bass improv that has to be good, we're working with a saxophonist who could eventually take more of the lead but for now it's where we're at.

So I tried 45-105 stainless steel rounds from La Bella. Idk they're just not quite right. Too stiff, a little gnarlier to play than nickel rounds IIRC, and they just... don't sound RIGHT. you know? I want a bright but still gently thuddy tone, something that doesn't just bite hard like stainless steel, it barks and growls you know?