Endpin question from newbie

Discussion in 'Setup & Repair [DB]' started by bassmama, Jul 12, 2004.

1. First of all, thanks in advance for your kind consideration of my question. I'm new in these here parts. :)

I'm reasonably new to the URB and have had my own for about a year and a half. It's a Kohr 3/4 size laminate student model, new. (Home equity is a wonderful thing). :)

I started out with lessons from the low-strings man at our local state U. I've been working on my own from the Simandl book. (BTW, who besides me thinks those should be spiral bound??)

Anyhoo, I'm game enough to take out "Bertha" to a bluegrass or open-stage jam now and again, so she's travelled a bit.

I'm short enough so that I don't even need to extend the endpin, so I have paid NO attention to the endpin or all the parts that constitute it.

Somehow in all the travels, the rubber tip came off, leaving a sharp point that is good for marring hardwood floors. Then I noticed a nut on the floor that I realized had been part of the endpin . . . but apparently some other little part is gone as well, because I have nothing to screw the nut onto.

I've scanned the archives and I've see discussions about endpin replacement especially with regards to improvement of sound. I'm wondering if I should consider this. My bass is easier to play than the student model I was using when I took lessons, but the sound volume is reduced as well. I'm thinking a shorter, different endpin might be in order at some point. I can't imagine that all that length of metal tubing inside the bass does the sound much good.

Well, I guess that's a lot of leadup for my questions . . .

1) What are the individual little parts that make up the endpin, and can they be replaced?

2) If no, not replaceable, suggestions for a replacement?

Thanks again very much for your kind attention.
  2. Helloooooo . . . Bueller??? Anybody?

Please tell me y'all aren't rollin' yer eyes at the newbie stupidity of this question. :rollno: