1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Engelhardt EM-1--good? bad?

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by Rosiejay, Feb 18, 2008.

1. Rosiejay

Rosiejay

Feb 18, 2008
    Hi,

I am normally a consultant for violins, but my client wishes to buy a durable starter bass for bluegrass. Are there any opinions on Engelhardt EM-1 or any Engelhardt model?

We purchased a 1920s Kay with a broken neck for $70. The body is quite nice but needs some glueing--I rather like it. I'm a luthier. We are debating whether to immediately invest in a new neck blank for the Kay and graft the scroll on, or buy a starter bass elsewhere and take it slow with the Kay.

I would appreciate any recommendations on other good basses as well.

Thank you!

Rosiejay

2. ctcruiser

ctcruiser

Jan 16, 2005
    West Haven, CT
    The Engelhardts are a good solid starter bass. I have an ES-1 and after a little set up, it sounds great. It has served me well. Keep in mind that "sounds great" is for a plywood bass that costs as low as they are. You can't expect to get the sound of a higher price bass, just be realistic and it can serve the purpose of starting out.

If you do a search, you will see various threads regarding Engelhardts, both pro and con. Most of the cons say that for a little more money you can do better.

As for repairing the old Kay, you will find varying opinions on those as well. There is always a market for them, so some people seem to like them.

Godd luck which ever way you decide!

3. jimmyduded

jimmyduded

Jun 12, 2007
    cherry hill nj
    if you got a kay for 70 dollars then there is no reason to spend the 1000 dollars to get a englehardt, sure its a good bass but old kays are golden

4. Gufenov

Gufenov

Jun 8, 2003
    There's no such thing as a 1920's Kay, as they began building them in 1937. You can learn more at www.kaybass.com.