Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

engineer says "just go direct, no DI"??????

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by LowfreqB, Mar 27, 2001.

1. LowfreqB

LowfreqB

Nov 10, 2000
    United States
    I'm very new to recording, I'v been in some okay studios before. I'v recorded direct with no DI on cubass, the tone was well, I wasnt happy with it. I have also recorded with mic and DI box mixed. That sounded great. I have not heard what pro tools can do with a direct sound. The pro tools with only a instrument cable and bass is what is proposed for this weekend. Is this wrong? Do I have to use a DI box to get a good sound? They told me that protools has enough plugins to help shape my sound. I'm playing a Stingray 5 (active bass)

Any help would be nice

2. i record direct all the time. i hardly ever use a di box.

3. JMX

JMX Vorsprung durch Technik

Sep 4, 2000
    Cologne, Germany
    Like Herm said, should work fine. In any case a good studio should have some DIs lying around, so you still can use a DI when the need arises.

4. gweimer

gweimer

Apr 6, 2000
    Columbus, OH
    Remember that the rule of thumb for recording is your ears, and not signal paths. ANYTHING goes if it sounds the way you want it to. I took some recording classes, and that was the first thing they taught us. Ignore the needles, and LISTEN. There is nothing wrong with any method of recording bass, and each has it's own characteristics. A short story I just read on the RHCP album Californication - on one track, they recorded the guitar after letting the battery on the active pups nearly wear down, because the sound was just right for that 10 minutes.

5. brewer9

brewer9

Jul 5, 2000
    By "direct" what do you mean? From the head into the board? wouldnt that fry the head?

6. JMX

Sep 4, 2000
    Cologne, Germany