English Majors Making Great Music

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Stephen S, Dec 23, 2003.

1. Stephen S

Stephen S Member

Apr 10, 2002
    San Bernardino, CA
    Ever hear anyone say, "If you are good at math you are good at making music"? Well I have and Frankly, I'm bothered by it. I know that in music you have intervals. and progression and such, but 2+2 doesn't equal top 40, and I've never heard of anyone using math to create a real tear jerker. Do you think Cat's In the Cradle was written with a calculator? So I'm wondering if a 5th was called a verb and minor 3rd called a pronoun etc.. would English Majors be good at making music? Discuss amongst yourselves.
  2. pineapple

Oct 16, 2003
    lexington, ky
    my degree is in english literature and i consider myself very decent at writing my own songs and laying down some good stuff behind my guitar player.

and i did really, REALLY bad on the math part of the gre, even though it was considered basic. :spit:
  3. moley

Sep 5, 2002
    Hampshire, UK
    Donald Fagen had an English Lit degree I believe.
  4. Nick Gann

Nick Gann Talkbass' Tubist in Residence

Mar 24, 2002
    Silver Spring, MD
    Neal Peart has a degree in english.
  5. canopener

Sep 15, 2003
    Isle of Lucy
    I've never heard that expression, nor anything similar...besides, my TI-83 isn't the best musical instrument...

On a similar token, weren't many of the members of Pink Floyd architecture guys? I suppose you could say that's the best of both worlds...

Edit: TI-83 is a graphing calculator, for those not in the know...
  6. secretdonkey

Oct 9, 2002
    Austin, TX
    The last original band I was in (not counting my current sideman gig) back in the mid 90's was led by an English professor at the local State U. I figure it's pretty much all downhill after that, in terms of lyrical brilliance, at least.

7. JimK

Dec 12, 1999
    I have a BA in English Lit.