Epi T-bird: Yea or Nay?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by StringsOf4, Dec 16, 2005.

1. StringsOf4

Dec 16, 2005
    I've been reading old Epi T-bird threads for the better part of an hour and no side of the argument has won. I've been playing bass for 5 years and have always wanted a T-bird. I have an MIM P-bass with Duncans now, and it's still a bland pbass, plus any note past the fifth fret on any string is dead and thumpy. The T-birds look killer and the fatter the neck, the better. No music store anywhere near me sells them (we need more music stores in PA) so i can't try one. There are alot on here who love them and just as many who hate them. With no regard to how they compare to Gibsons or vintage t-birds (I've never even seen one in real life) how are the epis? Worth buying at $400 plus shipping? Will it last? (someone said said Epi electronics crap out) Is it good for shows? Thanks.
  2. FenderHotRod

Sep 1, 2004
    That's why I got one. Even when I was a guitar player I wanted a T-Bird. I don't have the moola for a Gibson... IMO the Epi. is the next best thing.
    There is a guy over at the Dudepit that gigs with his, and has had no problems out of it that I know of.
  3. anonymous278347457

anonymous278347457 Guest

Feb 12, 2005
    nobody ever agrees on these forums...... :D , Ive always wanted a thunderbird to. the main reason is that Shavo from SOAD plays one (gibson) also they look very cool. I need to find somewhere where i can try one out. i think you should too.
  4. StringsOf4

Dec 16, 2005
    Thanks guys. Yeah, theres one GC in Pennsylvania and they have all fenders, ibanezes, warwicks and specters. They had gibson t-bird when they first opened about 5 years ago, but it probably self destructed cuz they never took care of their stuff, the pups were falling out and it wasn't in tune. I'll keep looking, i really wanna know how these basses feel and sound.
  5. Plain Old Me

Plain Old Me

Dec 14, 2004