1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Epifani UL410 or Bergantino AE410

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by davidjbass, Jul 27, 2008.

1. davidjbass

davidjbass Supporting Member

Sep 2, 2006
    Massachusetts
    I need some advice on which cab would be the best for my situation. I play in a pretty loud rock cover band. And I have been using an Ampeg 410hlf for a couple of years now. But because of a recent lower back problem I have to find something lighter. I own a Mark Bass Little Mark II. And I have tried the Mark Bass cabs but don't like them. Plus they are 8 ohms and I need a 4 ohm cab.

So I have narrowed it down to 2 cabs. Either the Epifani UL 410 or the Bergantino AE410. Which cab do you think would handle high volumes, produce lots of low end, handle low frequencies well(we do a lot of songs in drop D and C and I also play a 35" five sting) and last but not least not break my back. Thanks in advance for your opinions.

2. Do a search on the AE410. There are about a zillion posts comparing the 410UL and the AE410, since they are the two lightweight 410 'kings' at the moment.

Both are great, and they sound very different from each other. In short, the Epi seems to have slightly higher SPL than the AE, and has a deeper, more extended low end. The AE, though, has a lot of low mid force, and is much more voiced to the mids, especially the upper mids, where it growls quite a bit. In general, I describe the 410UL as a more 'pop/funk' cab... just a touch of politeness in the mids, a sweet, airy tweeter that is amazing for slap style, and a big, big low end that puts a very nice 'pillow' under the band. The AE is very punchy, and more 'rock aggressive'... lot's of 'bap, bap, bap' to the sound, and a more raw, grindy upper mid response that somewhat overwhelms the 'sizzle'.