1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Epiphone EB-3 VS. Fender P-bass VS. Fender J-bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by 4strings_please, Aug 21, 2012.

1. 4strings_please

4strings_please

Feb 1, 2012
    I've been playing my EB-3 for about 4 years now and i am thinking of changing it to either a fender p-bass or a j-bass for the modern punk tones, the bass still pounding in your body but with the treble response to cut through the guitars. i wanted some true bass players opinions on the matter.
    Thanks.

2. PBnJBassist

PBnJBassist

Mar 8, 2011
    Dallas, TX
    Modern punk tones? Get a P-bass.

3. droo46

droo46

Jun 16, 2011
    Get a Precision or a PJ and a VT bass pedal. That will serve you well as a punk bassist.

4. mpdd

mpdd neoconceptualist

Mar 24, 2010
    LA
    if you like gibsons, try a grabber

i use an sb2 nowadays
    hot pickups, very playable, and thick overdriven sound with my tube amp

5. Wallace320

Wallace320 Commercial User

Mar 19, 2012
    Milan, Italy
    The Edwards is a MIJ ESP P bass worth $. 100.00 more than a Fender Precision Classic, but already has Seymour Duncan split pick-up, that I'd recommend to be an SPB2 to be installed on the Fender Precision Classic for your sound purposes.

Cheers,
    Wallace

6. Of the choices you have given, I would recommend the Fender Jazz. Basically, anything with two pickups, either jazz single coils, soapbars or a PJ, would give the best tone for modern punk in my opinion. You need both a neck pickup for the beef and a bridge pickup for the bite to get a good aggressive and powerful sound.

Many of the punk bands I listen to and almost all the local bands I play with use jazzes or similar type basses. I find the jazz will give the best punch you are probably looking for.