1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

EPL fans

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by cheezewiz, Apr 22, 2009.

1. cheezewiz

cheezewiz Supporting Member

Mar 27, 2002
    Ohio
    OK, admittedly, I'm new at this soccer/football fan thing. I've only been watching games regularly this season, and I watched them infrequently before. For some reason this season, I really got into it and have been watching pretty much every game available here in the US. Of course, here, the broadcasts are usually Man Utd. or Chelsea, but I think I've seen every EPL team at least once, and most of them more than once. I watch all the Arsenal games that aren't broadcast live here on the internet.

This is an honest question. Is there any team in the EPL that "dives" more than Chelsea? It seems they ALWAYS have a player flopping to the ground needlessly trying to draw a free kick and a yellow card on someone. It seemed especially heinous against Arsenal in the FA Cup Semi. They appear to me almost as bad as the Colorado "Divealanche" were in the 90's in the NHL.

Am I wrong?

2. tplyons

tplyons

Apr 6, 2003
    Madison, NJ
    That seems about right. One of my best friends is a soccer player, a diver, etc. Fitting that he's a Chelsea fan.

I watch, but I'm still only just learning the sport as well.

3. WickedPissah

WickedPissah

Jan 22, 2008
    Boston
    That can't be right. Cristiano Ronaldo plays for ManUre.

4. Unfortunately for me, Fox Soccer thinks the only sides Americans care about are Man U and Chelsea, so I rarely get to see the team that I actually support (Liverpool), thus making it hard to really keep up with the EPL.

Cheese, where are you watching games on the internet?

5. NJL

NJL

Apr 12, 2002
    San Antonio
    i thought this was a emerson lake and palmer thread..

6. WickedPissah