1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

EQ a Room?

Discussion in 'Live Sound [BG]' started by baddarryl, Nov 1, 2018.

1. baddarryl

baddarryl Supporting Member

Oct 26, 2008
    Cape Fear!
    Hi all. other than the same room all the time I have very little experience playing live. I understand a little bit about cutting or boosting frequencies to cut through or reduce boominess, but what do you guys actually listen for to make your adjustments playing different venues ? How do you hear what’s in the crowd versus what you have on stage ? Are there some hard and fast standards for where to start with EQ, or cabinet placement and things like that? Thanks.

2. Your bass amp, pa, or both?

3. baddarryl

Oct 26, 2008
    Cape Fear!
    I guess my amp.

4. saabfender

saabfender Banned

Jan 10, 2018
    Indianapolis
    You’ll need to learn to sweep an EQ. That’ll get you pointed in the right direction and understanding how eq works. This is an ultra-rare instance where having you google a phrase will get you more information than a half-dozen people typing away earnestly for your particular situation.

That said, get your amp off the ground.

5. Just listen to what's going on in the room acoustically. Some rooms amplify or hide certain frequencies. Cut or boost accordingly.
    Learn to stay out of other peoples frequency sweet spots. Hopefully they will stay out of yours.
    If you have pa support, don't be too loud or boomy on stage.
    Remember that the tone that sounds great at home may (probably) not be the best tone to sit in the live mix.

6. baddarryl

Oct 26, 2008
    Cape Fear!
    What do you guys use for that ?

7. JRA

JRA my words = opinion Supporting Member

anything!
    - milk crate
    - amp stand
    - little sister

jon mccumber and baddarryl like this.
  8. Zbysek

Zbysek

Mar 23, 2017
    Czech Republic