1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

EQD Avalanche Run - Question for Owners

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Flymo Wang, Jan 17, 2017.

Tags:
  1. Flymo Wang

Flymo Wang

Jan 5, 2011
    Bristol, UK
    Hey TB - hoping someone can help me out here. I have an EQD Dispatch Master, and am very tempted with an upgrade to the Avalanche Run. There is nowhere I can try one out, so I just wanted to ask a couple of things - hopefully somebody with an AR can help (it would definitely help if you've also played a dispatch master)...

I love my dispatch master for volume swells / pads, but it doesn't cut it (for me) as just a delay, so hoping the extra versatility of the avalanche run will help out here.

1. the Dispatch Master repeats get quite lost when the reverb is turned up, and even with the reverb turned off, the repeats aren't that loud. Can you boost the volume of the repeats up to unity, so you can play off the repeats (U2 style??)
    2. Using the tone control on the avalanche run, can you make the repeats a bit more 'sterile' / more clear? I'm not wanting or expecting DD-3 levels here, but hoping the tone control can take this beyond the dispatch master...

many thanks!

2. I don't own the Avalanche Run but have spent some quality time with it in a local music store and I can definitely tell you that it takes everything about the Dispatch Master to the next level. While the reverb is not entirely tweakable it is very nice sounding. The delays though are where this thing shines. Now obviously I haven't played this with a band or in a mix but I didn't find that repeats were too dark or lost sounding at all and you do have the tone knob to help brighten them up. The mix knob does definitely help with keeping the repeats at or below unity level as well.