Ernie Ball SUB StingRay Review???

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by truckin88, Feb 14, 2005.

1. truckin88

Oct 18, 2001
    Newburgh, NY
    I am looking for a review of an active SUB bass, used search can't find anything.
  2. jiant.

Jul 3, 2004
    Fort Mill, SC
    Price Paid: US $699.00

Purchased from: N/A
    Guitar Center in Fort Myers Florida

Features: 9
    Made in USA
    Poplar body
    21 fret
    34 inch scale
    Fat and smooth black painted neck (possibly maple)
    Musicman bridge
    3+1 Musicman tuners
    Musicman humbucker
    Controls for volume, bass and treble

Sound: 10
    I recently purchased my SUB Bass a few days ago. The interesting thing is that I have read every review listed on this site about this instrument before purchasing it. I have been playing bass for about 16 years and have to say I love this bass. The sound is FAT. I also own a Krammer Spector and a ESP 5 String. The sub bass has a much rounder sound. I am looking forward to recording with this bass.

Action, Fit, & Finish: 9
    The bass was set up almost perfect. A few modifications and it was kicking.

Reliability/Durability: 10
    I believe this bass is the most durable I have ever owned. Very solid instrument.

Customer Support: N/A
    Have not had to deal with them.

Overall Rating: 10
    Overall I am very happy with my purchase. I think this bass will fit very nicely into my collection. I strongly recomend this bass.

Submitted by Joe Kustek at 06/25/2004 03:12

Found this here.
    There might be other active SUB reviews on there, but this is the first one I found on the page.
  3. tplyons

Apr 6, 2003
    Madison, NJ
    I got a chance to play the bass, and enjoyed it very much. Was essentially a two-band Stingray with a wacky finish and a painted neck. Pretty obviously made from the ugly wood at the Ernie Ball factory, but sturdy nonetheless.