ESP Basses - Opinions greatly appreciated

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by j b scott, Nov 14, 2002.

1. G'day to all people who are reading! ;)

Well... I started playing bass at the start of the year on a cheap half busted unknown brand which i picked up from cash converters. Anyway, i just mucked around and tought myself, and turned out really liking playing it, and have since joined several bands and played in assemblys and other things.

To the point, i am going to soon get a new bass, which i am quite sure will be 5 sting, since i would like the scope that it has, and am looking for a versative bass that will last a while, in the $1000 - 2000 price range (Australian) (would be about $500 - $1000 American). From trying out in shops i have taken a fancy to the ESP ltd B-205.

While i was sure i was going to get this one, some of the guys i play with call it "too metal" and don't consider it to be a well respected brand.

Also when reading messages on this forum, ESP basses are never mentioned, only Fender, Warwick and others.

Before spending all the money i have saved on this bass, i would appreicate any thought on the ltd series and the quality and versatitily of the ESP basses overall, when taken into consideration that it will be used in funk/hip hop, rock/metal, and blues bands!

(sorry if that was a bit lengthy i just finished year 12 and am quite drunk at the moment) :p
  2. I owm a ESP F204 and really like it. IMO i think it would be a good choise for you. I play alot of different types of musc and have been told it sounds good. Its also very comfortable at least to me. Im also considering F-205.
  3. bazzanderson

Oct 7, 2002
    Austin, TX