Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Essex Bass - Stepping up question

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Fong249, Jun 23, 2005.

1. Fong249

Fong249

May 25, 2005
    Washington, DC
    Hi Fellas, I've been playing bass for three years now, playing a wide variety of music types from funk, rock, metal, and jazz. I currently play a Ibanez GSR205. (Just a 5 string GSR). I've been seeing alot about Essex basses. Would getting a Essex bass and throwing some modifications in be enough of a step up from my gsr205, or should i continue to save for something better, like a Spector, EBMM, or so on.

I'd be willing to put a little money into the Essex bass... changing pickups to EMG or Basslines, and changing bridge. Maybe the tuners too, im not a fan of Fender tuners.

Also, I have a squier that i got for 10 bucks at a garage sale... Its like a 99 or so. How do squiers compare to essexes?

Thanks

2. I think if your wanting a decent step up you should save some money and get a good bass ( my 2 cents, as you americans say :) )

3. illidian

illidian

Jul 2, 2004
    The Essex will have a more customized sound (as you have a good deal of choice in the p/ups and tonewoods [both fretboard and body]) that should fit you better, assuming you don't "like" the sound of your GSR.

Essex basses are much better quality than Squiers. Essexes are, on average, roughly equal to (maybe better) than the average to above-average MIM Fender. As far as comparing it to your GSR, that depends. My GSR is better quality than any MIM Fender I've played - no issues whatsoever (except a messed up pot, which was because of misuse).

4. Fong249

Fong249

May 25, 2005
    Washington, DC