1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Essex SX Shortscale P Bass - My First Bass!

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by meestro, Apr 1, 2009.

1. meestro

meestro

Dec 2, 2008
    Just purchased my first bass guitar. I've been an avid guitarist for years, also been known to dapple in the drums...but this will be my first bass.

I have heard great things about Rondo as far as bang-for-the-buck deals, and I figured it'd be a good go at a 1st bass. I went with a short scale, after enjoying the tones I've gotten out of them in the past w/ some of the old vintage models I've played.

The exact bass I got was this white shortscale 60s style p-bass w/ the rosewood fingerboard ($100):

bg1k34wht1.

I ordered a Gotoh 201 bass bridge ($40), but not tuners yet. I'll see how these hold up, and how nice the gear ratio is first.

I also ordered a vintage P-bass wiring kit from Mojo Musical, which comes w/ cloth wiring, 2 CTS pots, and a orange drop cap all for $15-20. I've got a couple original 1950s knobs from an old Fender Lap Steel...I've also got some bone nut material ready in case this nut is shoddy. I also got a Kent Armstrong P-Bass pickup (around $50). Ordered a set of Rotosound Shortscale Flatwound strings for $30 or so...

I'm having my luthier friend Chris Siegmund do the work on it for me...he works magic!

Should be a great deal after all is said and done...I have yet to receive the bass, but even if it takes a little fretwork, I'm sure it'll play great after a proper setup. I plan to mostly use it for recording.

I am also looking to score the Barber Linden EQ pedal to run into a tube preamp/DI. I love the old B15 sound.

I'll let you know how it all comes together, hopefully w/ some photos of the process!

2. kickupthejam

kickupthejam

Feb 22, 2008
    Perth