Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

EUB or DB?

Discussion in 'Electric Upright Basses (EUB's) [DB]' started by Aaron Saunders, Apr 11, 2004.

1. Aaron Saunders

Aaron Saunders

Apr 27, 2002
    Ontario
    I'm a bass guitarist (2 years exp) but for the last year or so I've been getting more and more into jazz. But as I do so, I can't help but be infected with this overwhelming desire to play an upright! The musicians who play on some of these songs are just phenomenal! It gets worse when I actually come into physical contact with an upright, be it at school or in a store. The most recent occurance was some old, 3/4 size blue sponge-painted (it was obviously painted a LONG time ago, it's chipped, scratched, and beat up all over) with a p-bass pickup haphazardly rigged up under the strings, extending off the fretboard with some ridiculous excuse for a preamp literally duct-taped to it.
    The question I have isn't so much as "how do I get started" or even "is it worth it", because I have both of those covered (I have a teacher that also plays upright and regular access to the school's bass during school).
    See, the issue is at home practice. I won't be able to get to far on a DB without actually having one at home, and I can't exactly steal the school's every night. And yes, I already plan on familiarizing myself VERY well with a bow ;).
    My question: should I get an electric upright bass, or a regular double bass?

General things to know:
    -When I play BG, my strings are set low and have loooow tension so I might find an EUB a lot more comfortable to play
    -I'm not -- repeat, NOT -- looking for something that sounds like a fretless BG. I already own one for that purpose! :p