Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

EUB or thin body doghouse ?

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by Frank Louis, Oct 6, 2004.

1. I'm a newbie to the DB world, been playin' BG for almost 40 years. Currently working with a nine piece group with horn section doing weddings, banquets etc. . I would like to add a DB to the mix, would be perfect for the big band, jazz and rockabilly material. I can dial in a useable sound on my slab with a piezo bridge, but a DB would add greatly to the tone and overall presentation of the group.
    However space is at a premium, both stage and cargo. I am considering a BSX 2000, available locally, but this thin body DB with a David Gage pup is attractive . . .
    http://www.giardinelli.com/srs7/g=stringed/search/detail/base_pid/470330/
    Does anyone have experience with this bass? I am concerned about feedback due to the fact that stage posistioning always places me directly in front of my amp. But that big blonde baby would look nice up there ! ;)

2. Matt Ides

Matt Ides

May 12, 2004
    Minneapolis, MN
    If you are looking at that, for the money and size just go with a DB.

3. godoze

godoze

Oct 21, 2002
    I have owned 2 EUB's and sold both. I bought them because of the portability of the instrument. Unfortunately none of the EUB's that I have played capture the true essence or tone of a Double Bass.

A 5/8 of 1/2 size instrument would be a better option. The feedback issue can be dealt with.

most people I know who invest in an EUB eventually sell at a loss and buy a real Double Bass.

Just my persepective.

4. Johnny L

Johnny L

Feb 14, 2002
    Victoria, TX