Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Eurosonics vs Anima

Discussion in 'Strings [DB]' started by JAS, Jan 2, 2005.

1. JAS

JAS

Jul 3, 2001
    California
    I have been using the Eurosonic Ultra Lights for about 6 months now and I have really enjoyed them for the most part. I like that I can use a magnetic pickup with them and they feel great. But, they don't bow well even after being scratched up and they seem to be loosing some of their tone after about 6 months.

I am thinking about trying the Velvet Animas. These are the ones that I think Rufis Reid uses. How do these strings compare?

-How do they bow?
    -Can I use a magnetic pickup with them?
    -Are they gut or synthetic, there seems to be some confusion on this?
    -What is the tension like?
    -How is the sustain?
    -Are all 4 strings wrapped in the same material?
    -What is the difference between these and the Garbos?

Thanks for any help!!

2. I've also used Eurosonics (lights) and like you found them to be pretty awful for arco even with the suggestions already mentioned. You might want to try Thomastik 'Superflexibles' i've had really good results with them for both arco and pizz. I'm presently concentrating on arco just to improve my intonation and general fretboard knowledge, however once i've secured a basic mastery of what i need to know i will go back to Euronsonics for pizz playing. They are great for that style.

3. JAS

JAS

Jul 3, 2001
    California
    They have been pretty great for pizz playing. The only real problem with that has been the E string. It seems to have some weird overtones that make it hard to get in tune as much as I would like. They seem to be dying out a bit after about 6 months.