Ever feel like packing it all in?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by XavierG, May 1, 2002.

1. I remember hearing Alain Caron play, a couple of years back, and I seriously considered laying my bass to rest right then and there (just having picked it up after not having played for many years). You guys know that feeling? Well, I swore I wouldn't let 'ol Mr. Spider-hands put a damper on my bass playing, and I started practicing my bass playing fairly religously once again. I look back to that day (2 years ago) and am thankful that I opted to work at it rather than call it quits. I owe it all to Al who inspired me to keep at it.

How many of you owe your devotion to the bass to a particular bassist? How many of you seriously considered packing it in after hearing someone play?

2. I've been inspired by a number of guys. My first big hero was Geddy Lee. Later, Tony Levin and Jaco started rattling around my head. I got inspired to get into jazz by seeing Dave Holland tear it up on upright last September.

I would never consider packing it in, because I know that there is always someone who sucks more than me. :D
  3. I never considered packing it in. I just got too wrapped up in life 20 years ago. (almost got married) After that disaster, I always wanted to get right back at it, but, as you get older, friends (a.k.a. local musicians) move away, die or just change their priorities. To make a long story even longer :D I almost got back into music a few other times, but, through hesitation and being a lazy dog, didn't do so until I couldn't take it anymore and went out and bought a fretless Jazz bass in July, 2000. I bless that day. And I haven't stopped since.