Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Ever heard of a "Don Jon" 3/4 Upright?

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by mauibass, Jul 1, 2004.

1. mauibass

mauibass

Jul 1, 2004
    Aloha! Newbie here. I just picked up a "Don Jon" Upright from a philipino import store here on Maui for $600. It has Nylon strings on it the E and A are toast So I put new Metal E and A string on and broke the e string tuner. I just order replacements tuners from Bob at www.urbbob.com This thing is painted the finger board and the bridge are both painted black. I was told that the instruument is over 35 years old from the philipines. I noticed that the tuners don't go all the way accross the head stock as I have seen on other basses.

My question are:
    1. Has anyone seen a bass like this?
    2. Could it have been made just for gut and nylon string?

Here's a link to some pictures I took last night.
    www.emauiweddings.com/upright

The D & G Nylon strings sound so incredible, very deep resonate sound wow.

David

2. Marcus Johnson

Marcus Johnson

Nov 28, 2001
    Maui
    I saw this one, at Ka'ahumanu Center, upper level, right? The broken tuning machine right off the bat should tell you something. Hopefully the new machines will help, if you can get them to fit.

Basses at this level are prone to a lot of structural problems. Low tension strings might help keep it together for awhile. I would suggest you read the newbie links regarding buying a bass. If you were looking for something inexpensive to beat around on, you found it, although I feel you paid too much. I personally would have looked further. Good luck; Email me if you need any help.