Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Ever play songs you don't know?! GIGGING?!

Discussion in 'Bass Humor & Gig Stories [BG]' started by metalguy2, May 15, 2005.

1. metalguy2

metalguy2

Dec 26, 2004
    Boston
    So last night was a pretty good show. We went in, saw some bands and then played our set. (being the headliner) So by the time we run through all the songs. We had so much time left it wasn't funny. So then the crowd cheers on.. WE WANT MORE!! WE WANT MORE!! What are we to do.. PLAY COVERS!!!
    Only that I am totally new to this genre of metal. So I do not know any covers at all. So I think we played 4 or 5 covers where I did total improv bass to these songs. While watching the guitar players in the chorus' for the notes. Absolute rediculousness.

Any similar stories?!

2. Brad Johnson

Brad Johnson Commercial User

Mar 8, 2000
    Gaithersburg, Md
    Boom Bass Cabinets, DR strings
    I do it all the time. Unfortunately, because I don't freak out, people just come to expect it. I've done Gospel songs I've never heard before, with tons of movements, which started with the MD saying the classic words:

"Don't worry... you'll pick it up".

Keeps me on my toes.

3. Erlendur Már

Erlendur Már

May 24, 2000
    It happened to me once. I found out about the gig the day before, IIRC. The guitarist showed up around 6 pm, we rehearsed from 6 to 8 and the gig started around 10, I think.

I think I knew about half of the songs we played.

4. Kael

Kael Supporting Member

Dec 26, 2004
    Oklahoma City
    I'm happy half the time if I've even heard a song before I need to play it on stage. Used to pull several every week type shows where we had to pull songs out that only one of us knew. Got competent at the fake it till you make it school of bass.

5. Marcus Willett

Marcus Willett Supporting Member

Feb 8, 2005
    Palm Bay, FL