1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Ever want to slow a song down enough to learn it? Use Audacity!

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by fourstringbliss, Dec 10, 2006.

1. fourstringbliss

fourstringbliss Supporting Member

Oct 5, 2003
    Puyallup, WA
    I've been using the free program Audacity to edit MP3's for a few months now. I never ventured into the "Effects" menu because I pretty much just cut and paste. Today I learned that this program can slow a song down (or speed it up) without changing the pitch. It'll sound the same - just slower! Now I can take the song I want to learn, slow it down, and be able to play along without having to buy a Tascam CD Trainer or something like that! Give it a shot!

Here's an example:

Bass Solo Normal

Bass Solo Slow

2. SuperDuck

SuperDuck

Sep 26, 2000
    Wisconsin
    Audacity is a great program, especially considering the price! (Which is free.) It really does have a lot of awesome features.

3. fourstringbliss

Oct 5, 2003
    Puyallup, WA
    Check out the samples I added to my post!

4. fourstringbliss

Oct 5, 2003
    Puyallup, WA
    Could a moderator please move this into General Instruction? I didn't know where to put it and then I saw someone in General Instruction asking about slowing songs down. Thanks!

5. jamesbrookes

jamesbrookes

Aug 29, 2006
    Maryland
    i dowloaded it, but how do you put music on to it?

6. fourstringbliss

Oct 5, 2003
    Puyallup, WA