Everyone. I need your opinions!

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Mark Wilson, May 9, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mark Wilson

Mark Wilson Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Jan 12, 2005
    Toronto, Ontario
    Endorsing Artist: Elixir® Strings
    Well. First things first. I've been playing bass for nearly 3 years now. I've had ONE bass through it all, and i'm getting my Geddy lee. But after that, what should I get? I don't mean to sound to "Jaco-esque" but i'm the baddist at my school. I feel horrible saying that, but my teacher refers to me as Jaco :hyper:

JT if you're reading this, you'll like this. But 4 isn't enough, and I don't like 5's. I want to go 6. At a music store I worked at, we have a Groove Tools 7-string. I LOVED it. It was the best bass I have ever played. Does Groove Tools make 6-strings? Conklin is too expensive for me. :( Also, if I can't get a 6, should I just goto 7? I mean i want to challenge myself. Gah! Please help!

PS. i LOVE The Ibanez BTB-6 as well.
  2. I dont know but personally I dont think more strings = more skill.

You can be just as challanged improving on a 4 or 5. but if strings is what you want, go for it.

if you want 6 strings buy a guitar :)

Sorry for being no help at all.
  3. Broach_insound

Jan 25, 2005
    New York
    lose the more string more skill mentality "Jaco" ha
  4. spindizzy

Apr 12, 2004