Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

examples of Sweeping

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Suckbird, Jan 4, 2005.

1. Suckbird

Suckbird Banned

May 4, 2004
    Sweden
    Recommend me some sweep picking bassist!
    If i understood it right then sweep picking is when u play alot of notes very fast, i would like to learn some simple sweep picking basslines or maybe the best way is to learn from the guitarists?

Thanks, Sam--

2. Sweep picking is an arpeggiation of a chord, or a scale as you play. Instead of picking every note individually, you sweep the plectrum in the constant back and forth motion, and hammer on and off the notes you play.

I have never seen a bassist sweep pick. And I gaurantee it would sound like ass.

3. I'm a weeping bassist over this thread. ;)

4. Jean Baudin

Jean Baudin

Aug 27, 2003
    redwood city, ca
    Endorsing Artist: See Profile
    I've been doing sweep arpeggios since the 80s... although, it's not useful for much. It's on a few nuclear rabbit songs.

I think I did it on one of the conklin cherished challenges. Let me check.

Yep.

http://www.conklinguitars.com/cherishedaugust.html

Granted, it's on a 9-string.

5. Matt Till

Matt Till

Jun 1, 2002
    Edinboro, PA
    I thought this thread was about bassists who are also janitors. ;)

6. Matt Till

Matt Till

Jun 1, 2002
    Edinboro, PA
    I think what Victor Wooten does during the "verses" of Sinister Minister could be considered sweep picking.

7. Dood, in order to be a sweeping bassist, you need to scallop the entire fretboard, and most definitely use your axe's flamethrower option to batttle mighty 3 headed dragons on yer 3rd album cover.

while wearing spandex.

8. Papersen

Papersen Supporting Member

Mar 22, 2002
    Well, I can think of two "famous" players who play that technique on bass.

1- Scott Hubell

Here you have two exercises from him:

Ex 1

Ex 2