Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Excessive string noise when fingerplaying

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Steve Harris Is, Aug 10, 2005.

1. Steve Harris Is

Steve Harris Is

Jul 4, 2005
    Ok, I have decided to switch to playing fingerstyle (I'm a 6 week newbie) and I am enjoying this method much better. However, I am noticng that I am getting a LOT of string noise that didn't seem to be present when playing with a pick.

Any thoughts?

2. Lower your pickups, EQ it out, or clean up your technique. Whatever suits you :) :bassist:

3. You can never get rid of it if you're using roundwounds. But, if you switch over to flatwounds you'll get none. You might not like the sound, but the noise will be gone. Turn down the treble.

4. WillBuckingham

WillBuckingham

Mar 30, 2005
    Is the string noise your talking about coming from your right hand? Is it from the strings clicking against the pickups, or is it from the friction of your hands on the strings? I don't really get any finger noise from my right hand and I use steel roundwounds with a lot of treble. Try playing closer to the bridge and using a lighter touch.

5. Or is this noise like strings other than the one you're playing on are ringing? Muting is a bit easier with a pick.

6. Suckbird

Suckbird Banned

May 4, 2004
    Sweden
    The muting is my biggest issue when i play with a pick, it just doesn't work, or well i dont know how to do it..