1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Expanding your bass playing

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Nico Zottos, Jul 29, 2012.

1. Nico Zottos

Nico Zottos

Jul 29, 2012
    Hey guys! I'm new to the forums but I came for a particular reason. I have been playing bass for almost 11 years now and would like to think that I am fairly accomplished (I don't like sounding like an egomaniac) but here is my question to you. While I have a good understanding of how to improvise, solo, etc, I feel as though I'm limited because of my lack of scale knowledge. I do have a good base in theory but could anyone recommend a place where I could learn new scales and new techniques for my playing? The problem I'm having is that many places online that I've found offer help for beginners but I haven't found any that offer advanced information. I'm not expecting to become better just with a few answers from you guys, I am going to work hard on my own, but I have a feeling that at least someone here will have a good idea where I could begin with new material.

Thanks guys!

2. Jazzkuma

Jazzkuma Supporting Member

Sep 12, 2008
    I recommend getting the john patitucci etudes book. It has etudes in every scale/mode and it is also a great way to work on sight reading. It will help you get familiar with scales faster because it makes you play melodies based on that scale instead of playing 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 and then back down.

3. Nico Zottos

Nico Zottos

Jul 29, 2012
    Thank you I will look into that!

4. bassplar

bassplar

Jun 5, 2012
    Chicago, IL
    It is actually a good question. I have been looking to do the same, and expand my playing. I really feel like I haven't gotten comfortable with the middle of the neck, 7th fret to 12th fret, like I have on other areas of the bass.