1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Expert on all things bass or simply focused?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Pudge Fish, Apr 13, 2015.

1. Pudge Fish

Pudge Fish

Aug 6, 2013
    MD
    Caught up in trying to learn about too many aspects of what, initially, started out as simply "playing bass"?

I've been playing bass for several years and have gotten involved with a couple of bands / recording projects. At first, being a better bassist was my only goal. I feel that as we grow into our musical roles, it becomes important to accept the burden of learning, not only technique, but maintenance and more. So after learning how to set up our instruments, we find "our sound". This means learning about technologies and techniques in bass guitars (build designs, configurations, pickups, preamps, strings) and then on to amplifiers and cabs (and pedals, sheesh!). With amps, you must learn enough to keep from blowing up your gear (such as impedance, power handling, cable types, all about tubes) and with cabs you can get into speaker size / arrangement, power requirements, crossover points, SPL, and more, ALL while trying to find / tweak "THAT" sound we each want.

Then you have to find a way to mesh that with a band and make it all click. Next, you get to record or play live, and each option has HOSTS of factors to learn at incredible depth. Never mind getting into microphones, mixing, PA systems, and all of that.... I know Rome wasn't learned-about in a day, but it can seem like a lot, even taking each bit as it comes.

So how about you TalkBass folks? Do you study everything you can to try and gain as much understanding as possible, or just stick to playing your bass and being the best bassist you can be and, perhaps, gather the info slowly or when absolutely needed?

2. bucephylus

bucephylus Supporting Member Commercial User

Aug 18, 2002