expert setup tips???

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by lo-end, Jul 24, 2001.

1. lo-end

Jun 15, 2001
    I am setting up my bass by myself (since I dont have enough money to take it to the shop and my parents wont spend any money on me), and I've never done this before. I already know the basics, plus a few tips I've learned from,, and some posts on TB. I was wondering if anyone has some "secrets" that they use on their basses to make them play better or set up better. If so, please share them with me as I am new to this kind of thing. Who knows? Maybe I'll become a luthier and start making basses for a living like Lakin or Sadowsky...

well not really. Anyway, whatever advice or tricks you guys have to offer are much appreciated!
  2. rsautrey

rsautrey Banned

Jul 27, 2000
    I'm certainly not an expert but here's some advice anyway:
    1. Patience.
    2. Patience.
    3. Truss rod turns should be small and results
    usually don't happen immediately.
    4. Don't try to be "perfect" with any part of your
    setup. Sometimes good enough is just that.
    5. All variables (action, relief, etc.) are equally
    important and work together.
    6. Wooden instruments will change due to weather
    and will probably cause your setup to change.
    7. Patience.
  3. treaten your bass with respect, have patience, etc

Don't use a ruler to adjust your action.. use your instict... it

daily meditation also helps.
  4. Practice makes perfect. The first time takes a while. Also, buy or make a radius gauge to make it easier to match the bridge saddles to your fretboard radius.
  5. lo-end

Jun 15, 2001
    keep the tips coming! By the way, as I said above, I already read Gary Willis' setup tips. Thanks anyway, JMX.

Thanks again! by the way, where can I get a radius gauge?? How much do they cost? How do you use them?
  6. pkr2

Apr 28, 2000
    coastal N.C.
    Make a circle on a piece of cardboard that duplicates the radius of the fingerboard.