Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Extended range issues

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by BassFelt, Jul 3, 2004.

1. BassFelt

BassFelt

Mar 26, 2002
    I've been playing Precisions for 30 years, a Jazz Deluxe V for 10 years, and have a custom built six-string Jazz coming up next week. I wanted the six mostly to have more range in one position, still playing "conventional bass".

I am kinda interested in a seven as well, and have been thinking about the concept of playing it more like a "bass+guitar" instrument, kinda like how Charlie Hunter plays a "guitar+bass" instrument. I've dabbled with a guitar with the two bottom strings replaced by bas strings.

I wonder if any of you 7-stringers has used a BEADGBE tuning, instead of BEADGCF. I'm a bassist by profession, but play decent guitar as well, and I wonder if this tuning would be easier to adopt to for a seven string ( I wouldn't use it on a 6-string).

I'm also interested in hearing any material by multistringers in and out of the membership that offers any new concepts.

Has anyone tried a band with two extended range instruments alternating bass- and chord/melody roles? (Like a band with two Stick players I saw in LA years ago) Any one playing "pianistic"?

I'm more interested in musical concepts (Anthony Jackson, Charlie Hunter) than in pyrotechnics per se (I just saw those videoclips on Dickins' page).

I spent a few hours reading older discussions on this board and read interesting things from Jauqo III-X, JT, Ninestring and others. I've heard JT's stuff on his site, what about the others?

Btw I hope we can avoid anti 5+ missile attacks and keep this an intelligent and friendly thread :)

2. Brian Barrett

Brian Barrett

Nov 25, 2001
    Murfreesboro, TN (Nashville)
    Dealer LowEndBassShop.com, Builder LowEndBasses.com