1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

External cab for my combo amp

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by EduUY, Jan 8, 2018.

1. EduUY

EduUY

Jun 22, 2017
    So, I wasted like 2 hours reading some pee wars and ego kids in some posts here around, and questions about the same I'm going to ask were not answered, more like there were 2 sides making war to each other and fighting like kiddos.. sorry if there are more post with info like this I will ask, but most of them are really contaminated with ego wars or are too general, I'm presenting a particular case..

I'm a completely noob in cabs, I always used combo amps everything out of the box, and now its time to upgrade for bigger shows.

The thing is i own a combo from SWR, the workingpro 2x10c, 400watt RMS @ 4ohm amp, but it comes standalone with 2x10 speakers @8ohm giving out half of the power.. In the back it has an extension cabinet output which says “Minimum 8ohm, 200 watt total power”.
    I find the sound of this swr bit too much scooped, like too much lows and highs, but i don't like its middles.. i like more the hartke sound i found on a small hydrive hd combo..

i went to the local music store and the vendor tried to sell me just from once an aguilar 2x10 expensivest 2x10 cab on the shop, that's why i come here because you are experienced pro bassists not shop vendors...he said for an swr amp i need a good cab and that's why he offeder aguilar....

The option i was really thinking of because of power and price its Hartke 2x10 xl, 200 watts rms at 8 ohm 2x10 cab the same my amp can give, its cheap, i have read good reviews of its sound, and it has 200 watts, its dimensions fit exactly over my SWR, and it would add good definition in midd range.
    Do i need something bigger than 200 watts to have some power margin or it would be ok to match 200w amp with 200w cab?