1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Extremely frustrated with fingerstyle!!!

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by cire113, Apr 24, 2010.

1. cire113

cire113

Apr 25, 2008
    Here's my problem I'm learning fingerstyle and instead of striking through and resting on the higher string I keep pulling up and away...It's like I pluck then bend my knuckle up...

I can't seem to not do this.. Can someone please explain this technique as simple as possible ??

I might just stay pick style put I like the dynamics with fingers

2. Jon_West

Jon_West

Jan 8, 2009
    GTA, Ontario
    Pretty sure everyone does this at first. The "proper" way is, like you said, to finger the string and carry it to the one lower string, muting it. It's very awkward to do at first, but practice and you'll get it. It has many, many rewards. :D

3. Lincoln1

Lincoln1

Feb 5, 2010
    I'm just learning (1yr) and it definately takes a while to make it work. Stick with it and it'll be worth your trouble in the long run for sure.

4. Asher S

Asher S

Jan 31, 2008
    MA
    Just a hunch... are you plucking *very* lightly or digging in?

All the pros I've learned from have an extremely light touch (both hands...).

It improves tone, endurance and agility, and also reduces repetitive strain injury.

5. standupright

standupright

Jul 7, 2006
    Phoenix, AZ
    Brownchicken Browncow
    generally.....across the string. not down and through, not bottom to top. not with a lot of effort. let your electronics do the work. run your pups hot, work on a lighter touch. control the dynamics with the effort in your technique.

continue to practice. practice with the right technique assures growth.

6. Fergie Fulton

Fergie Fulton

Nov 22, 2008
    Braintree
    Retrovibe Artist rota
    Understand the mechanics of your movement.