1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Eyes or Ears?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by iamchipsmith, Jul 1, 2007.

1. iamchipsmith

iamchipsmith

Dec 15, 2006
    Ok I'm your typical 17 year old self taught bassist who gets by on mostly tabs. Bass is my first instrument and I've only been playing around a year and a half. I can play some pretty challenging stuff and have a decent amount of theory under my belt. Unlike most other 17 year olds I know how much I'm lacking in many areas. I want to become a more well rounded bassist. I'd like to move away from tabs. So here's my main question should I work on improving my ear so I can figure songs out for myself or learn to read standard notation?

I plan on looking for a teacher in the fall when I go to college as well. If anyone has any other tips on improving myself or any free or cheap resources you think would be helpful to me please let me hear them. Thanks

2. TheBassBetween

TheBassBetween

Jun 25, 2005
    I'd say learn to read standard notation first. I mean, since you're playing what you're reading, it helps in your ear training as well, and for a beginning bassist, I think it's more important to be able to read music than to be able to figure out a song for yourself. Now, after you're able to read notation, THEN I'd suggest you train your ear a bit.

But, that's not to say you can't do them both at the same time.

3. iamchipsmith

iamchipsmith

Dec 15, 2006
    I'm sorta curious when being able to read really comes in handy. I can't imagine many situations when it would be neccessary, at least for the types of things that I can imagine doing. I can see when it'd helpful for others though. Can you describe some situations when it'd be helpful. Thanks