Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

F Bass factory, the dream weavers!

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by choad42, Sep 16, 2005.

1. Yesterday afternoon I finally made the trip to the F Bass factory here in Ontario, Canada. It was only about an hour's drive from my house. I'm still kicking myself for waiting so damn long to do it. I have been playing bass for over 20 years and I have played many different high end, hand crafted basses so I have a good idea of what is truly high end bass gear as far as comparisons are concerned. Anyways, I have to say that not only was George Fulanetto one of the nicest guys I have ever met, he is also IMHO the most gifted luthier on the planet. The factory tour George thoughtfully took me on showed me in great detail, how the world's most practical luxury basses are crafted. Now personally I find F Basses to be extremely expensive, I am a working bassist after all, however after speaking with George and seeing in person the different stages of the creation process I realised that his very heart and soul and that of his staff are poured into every single instrument they create. Now I understand why there are no low end or budget F Bass models as these are all high-end works of art to varying degrees, this is definitely a case of you get what you pay for and then some. Obviously my first priority was to play a few basses once I arrived at the factory. I tried a used Studio model 5 string which was fantastic and then I played a few brand new BN5s and I have to say they were nothing short of flawless in every regard. This is the first time in my life I have played a 5 string bass that felt cohesive from the B to the G string. My Fender FMT 5's B string more often than not leaves me wanting, but I swear the F Basses that I played were remarkable in response, feel and consistancy, theses basses practically played them