1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Face it, you don't really want to learn theory. And that's Ok.

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Nickweissmusic, Apr 14, 2017.

1. Nickweissmusic

Nickweissmusic Knows all intervals from one Fred, to Juan octave Commercial User

Jan 26, 2014
    San Diego, CA
    I teach lessons and perform live music in and around San Diego CA. Sometimes I even make money doing it!
    Several times a year, I find myself turning down prospective students. The most common reason is, an intermediate/advanced player thinks they want to learn theory, but they don't really want to.

I make no character judgment about that, it's just a fact. The conversation usually goes something like this:

"I've been playing for 15 years and want to learn theory."

"Fantastic, I can definitely help, but I have to ask, are you OK with lessons which will be 50% hands-on playing or less, sometimes not hands-on at all?"

"No."

That prospect doesn't really want to learn theory. Generally, that type of student wants to get better at what they are already good at. Like I said, I have no character judgment about that kind of player, but if the style they are trying to improve is not one that I have mastery of, he/she'll be better off with someone else who does.

Music theory is an intellectual pursuit. Of course the end goal is to be able to apply it into your own writing and playing, but that takes months, years, decades to apply. I love the quote of 90-year-old cello virtuoso Pablo Casals, when asked why he continued to practice every day, "I'm seeing progress."