1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

fairly new player with a sudden urge for a fretless (tiny budget)

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by rezin, Aug 21, 2007.

1. rezin

rezin

Sep 26, 2006
    Madison, WI
    so i've been playing for like 7 months or so and i'm ok i guess but all of a sudden i have this urge to play a fretless (it'll have to be lined because i'm only so patient). the problem is that i don't want to spend too much because i know there's a chance that it's just not gonna work out well but i still want something with some decent quality.

so i'd like to spend maybe up to 200 at the most, used is fine. any suggestions? i guess a jazz style 4 string would be ideal

thanks

2. j.a.e.r.i.p

j.a.e.r.i.p

Apr 8, 2007
    definately go with an SX, i like my SX better than my MIM Fender Jazz

3. rezin

rezin

Sep 26, 2006
    Madison, WI
    wow, thanks guys. so it seems to be pretty much unanimous. those sx basses look great.

4. richnota

richnota Gold Supporting Member

Jan 11, 2005
    Santa Cruz
    great call on those SX basses.

5. dave64o

dave64o Talkbass Top 10 all time lowest talent/gear ratio! Gold Supporting Member

Jun 15, 2000
    Southern NJ
    I have on of those SX's - the SJB-62 4+1 and overall it isn't awful. However, I do wish I spent a little more to get a better bass. For one thing, I couldn't get the B and E strings to stop rattling no matter how I adjusted it. I took it to a luthier I've used before a few times and trust, and he couldn't either. He ended up planing the fingerboard to level it for me and it's fine now, but that cost $75. So the total cost was about $205.