1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

FAITAL PRO W10N8-350 in avatar cab?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by kringle77, May 17, 2011.

1. kringle77

kringle77 Supporting Member

Jul 30, 2004
    Massena NY
    For anyone who knows the size/tuning of the avatar B410 Neo cab, would the FAITAL PRO W10N8-350 driver work ok in this cab? Im not good with the winsd program so, I could use some help. I'm thinking about putting some drivers in this cab that have some more upper mids. The 10PR300 is a consideration as well since I could get 4ohms out of them.

2. billfitzmaurice

billfitzmaurice Commercial User

Sep 15, 2004
    New Hampshire
    Owner, Bill Fitzmaurice Loudspeaker Design
    Compared to the Deltalite II 2510 you'll have less upper mids, and not as much low end as well.

3. kringle77

Jul 30, 2004
    Massena NY
    I agree on the low end. The upper mids on the 2510, I find a bit ganky, the faital looks smoother. The drivers in the avatar are pretty good but have a big dip in the upper mids. Thats my only beef with those drivers.

4. EQ the dip out. An outboard processor would be a lot cheaper than four new drivers.

5. allexcosta

allexcosta

Apr 7, 2004
    Bass cabs are designed around the speakers.

Replacing original speakers with different spec'ed ones, even if it's more expensive and supposedly better stuff usually sounds worse than the original ones on that particular box.

6. That isn't 100% true. When a company produces multiple cabs that have EXACTLY the same cab dimensions you can be assured that certain compromises are being made. I am not complaining though, this one box fits all approach helps keep the cost down and it is entirely possible to get good results. With that said there is no doubt in my mind that you can find a better driver for an Avatar cab, but it will probably cost more than the original.

7. billfitzmaurice