1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Falling back in love...

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Roger Haworth, Oct 3, 2009.

1. Roger Haworth

Roger Haworth

Mar 31, 2005
    I've been playing bass for 20 years now, in various bands with varying degrees of local 'success', played many gigs, mainly original material heavy/progressive rock bands.

In the beginning I started on a cheap Washburn B-2, all thin neck, pointy headstock and no tone whatsoever! This was swiftly followed by a Japanese Fender Precision that my skinny hands never got used to and didn't like the barky tone with poor sustain. My dream bass was always a 4001/3, being a huge fan of Chris Squire and loving the tone of them, through players like him, Geddy Lee and Bruce Foxton.

Well, in the summer of 1990 my wish came true, and I got my new fireglo 4003 from Nevada Music in Portsmouth. I remember the day it arrived - my Dad and I just stared at it for about an hour, not quite believing what a work of art it was. First job was to get the pickup cover off and then I never looked back. That bass went everywhere with me, it even got knocked over once by a drunk girlfriend (no damage thank God) doing gig after gig.

I got into a new band in 2004 and fancied a new sound. I got a Fender Jazz Geddy Lee and the Rick was put away. The Fender suited the hard rock far better I thought and along the way I also picked up a fretless USA Jazz and then a new Precision with flatwounds, striving for deeper and heavier tones. And those Fenders certainly deliver power in spades.

But then a couple of weeks ago I decided to take old faithful to practice.