famous bass players who taught themselfes!!

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Obsolex, Nov 27, 2002.

1. Obsolex

Obsolex Guest

Nov 17, 2002
    correct me if i'm wrong but i'll start out with saying the bass god les claypool taught himself, didn't he?
  2. Swerve

Nov 22, 2002
    Portland, Oregon
    I think for the most part he was self-taught. I remember reading that he played upright bass in the school jazz band. So that means he would have had some kind of formal teaching.
  3. JMX

JMX Vorsprung durch Technik

Sep 4, 2000
    Cologne, Germany
    In the end you ALWAYS teach yourself, wether you have a teacher or not. A teacher can only assist you in learning, the actual progress of learning is in your hands alone.
  4. moley

Sep 5, 2002
    Hampshire, UK
    Was Jaco self-taught? Someone somewhere said he was...
  5. Bryan R. Tyler

Bryan R. Tyler TalkBass: Usurping My Practice Time Since 2002 Staff Member Administrator Gold Supporting Member

May 3, 2002
    And if he is self-taught, imagine how much better he'd be now if he had someone to guide his talents.

BTW, I'm pretty sure Claypool himself diesn't think he's even remotely a bass god.
  6. Nick man

Nick man

Apr 7, 2002
    Tampa Bay

Just try to find someone who can guide you with your learning.

I admit that I have not relaly had any formal BASS instructions, though I have been playing bass in band class and have been taught very basic music theory for the past 3 years.

I could definetly benefit from a teacher and am dying to get one, the only problem is that I dont have them time for one between school and my band.

I am at the point where I can do really good playing the kind of music that I play, but that doesnt change the fact that I realize I can get better with someone to guide me.

A big part of having a teacher is having someone who knows what to look for as far as progress goes.