Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Famous bassists: their picks and picking technique

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Yamarc, Feb 7, 2006.

1. Yamarc

Yamarc Supporting Member

Jun 25, 2002
    Northville, MI
    I am new to the picking side of things and I have to play with one on several tunes for an upcoming gig...so, I am buffing up on picks and pickstyle playing. I have read what many have posted on the boards, but I am now interested in what some of the pros think or have said.

Does anyone know what type of picks the following use?

1. Anthony Jackson
    2. Mike Gordon
    3. Oteil Burbridge
    4. Bobby Vega
    5. Adam Clayton
    6. Carol King

Also, maybe you can tell me any advice these guys give for technique when playing pickstyle (eg- all downstrokes, muting, bridge or neck, etc)?

Thanks

2. Not sure of the picks they use...I use Clayton triangle 1.26mm picks because they get the sound and feel I like, which is what really matters most..

If I were you, I'd just buy an assortment of different picks, and try different ones unti you get what feels right..

My point is that every player's technique may be slightly different, and what works for them may not work for you...I used to try and find clips of my favorite bassists playing, or even just looking at their hand position in pictures..

...however, the best experience for me was watching a band that mine opened up for at our first gig ever; their bass player was great...I never really realized I was missing out on this technique before, and actually didn't gravitate to a pick until months later, but watching their bassist up close really gave me a good idea of the right technique...

Hope that helps...

3. Skel

Skel

Jun 19, 2005
    Boulder, Colorado