Fantastic Guitar Center Experience

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by register2, Feb 11, 2009.

1. register2

register2

Nov 15, 2003
    I am just writing to describe the excellent customer service I got from Guitar Center in Albany. I am a Brooklyn resident who was hell-bent on getting one of the 08 Fender MIA Jazz basses at the blowout price, and I made a lot of phone calls to track one down. I ended up dealing with someone at Guitar Center Albany who was a true pleasure to work with, and went way out of his way to get a hold of one of these basses for me. I had a lot of questions, had to put the bass on layaway for a bit and was generally on the phone with him a couple of times a week and this person was always friendly, upbeat, knowledgeable and dependable. I ended up talking with a sales manager at the store in Syracuse who was involved in helping me out with this, and he was similarly great to deal with. Anyway, long story still fairly long, the bass arrived today and it is just swell. I was bracing myself for dead tone, a warped neck, screwy frets or at the very least terrible action, but it was perfect. It looked like they set it up wonderfully, and it is extremely resonant and light.

Just wanted to praise a situation where a whole lot of people did a really great job for not a lot of reward (I am pretty sure they made zero profit by getting this bass to me). I should also mention that I called the manager of the person who helped me and he was extremely friendly too.

2. Spinal Tapper

Spinal Tapper

Nov 15, 2007
    Chicago
    Glad you had a great experience! I think it really helps when you already know exactly what you're looking for too

3. Jeff K

Jeff K Supporting Member

Jul 9, 2005
    Memphis, TN
    It does happen on occasion. I actually have a pretty good rapport with the main guys at my local G.C.

So what model and color combination did you get? You know the rules: No pics - no bass!

4. RickenBoogie

RickenBoogie

Jul 22, 2007