Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Favorite Amp setup with MM StingRay5?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by scott_barrett, Apr 27, 2005.

1. Hi all...

I just started playing a SR5, and after years of playing jazz basses, I'd like to know what the hot setup is for this kind of bass. I am currently playing it through a SVT-Pro preamp to a QSC and the Ampeg PR-1528 cab.

My thoughts are that the highs get kind of crushed in this setup. Would something like an SWR Grand Prix or G-K setup be a better match for the tone of this bass?

Thanks!
    Scott

2. A friend of mine uses a trace (gxm12 ?) head with a trace 410. swears by it. he also uses an MM, though I think its 4 str.

3. It depends on what YOU think the SR sound is supposed to be like...

If you think it's Flea's tone, he redefined SR tone by using Gallien Krueger heads and Mesa cabs, if I remember correctly.

If you think it's Tony Levin's tone, I'm pretty sure he played Trace Elliot.

I use mine through a Mesa 400+ and a Berg NV610...but that rig could make most any bass sound like "anvils smashing on concrete"*

- For what it's worth, you've got a solid rig with a lot of flexibility. I think you should spend some more quality time with it, twiddling knobs and EQ settings, before you just swap it out for something else.

*paraphrased from some other fella's post...even though he meant it as a bad thing.

4. When I play through the SVT-Pro preamp, it's really warm and tubey sounding, but does not sound very modern and bright. When I bypass the tubes, it sounds more like an SWR, which seems a little closer to the right sound for this bass. With my Jazzes or Modulus, that tube sound was spot on, but I think I want a little more modern sound....

Scott